Samsung LN52B750 – 52″ of Sheer Beauty

28 02 2010


So I recently picked up the best 1080P HDTV’s on the market today. The beautiful Samsung UN46B8500 46-Inch LED HDTV and boy it did not disappoint!

My quick Review:

Setup was very simple, the packing box has removable plastic clips that allow you to slide the whole cover off. No annoying heavy staples. You can save the whole box with the reusable clips for moving the TV in the future.

In terms of video quality, this TV is awesome. I can’t imagine how the picture could be much better. The color on this TV seems to be very accurate, although I am no spectrophotometer-wielding color expert. I like my white point a little bluer than most, so I started with the “Standard” setting and put the colorspace to “Native.” I backed off on he green a smidge because the bowl game grass looked too green. Skin tones look very good, awesome on some sources. If you like warmer whites you can change your colorspace to warm1 or warm2. I briefly considered professional calibration, but I am satisfied with the colors as they are set now.

With regard to the black colors, they are so deep that when watching a letterboxed video or a 4:3 video with black sidebars, the bevel is the exact same level of black. Depending on how you have your settings, the LEDs on the black part of the screen are totally off. I cannot see how the blacks could possibly be any deeper. Awesome!

With the right source, picture quality is amazing. I researched for months and visited numerous stores to narrow down my choices. If your TV is going in a bright room, this TV is likely the one for you.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment